Guitar | Bass | Keyboard | Microphones | Mixers | Audio Interfaces | Sequencers & Software Plugins | Live Sound & PA | Drums | Club & DJ | Accessories | Blowouts

optimum youtube format for audio?

This forum is for those setting up integrating their studios for TV, video and film productions. Lets add Audio for Games too! If you are pro, tell us about what you do.

Moderator: Tweak

optimum youtube format for audio?

Postby ThomasG on Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:00 am

Hi,
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to video. I'm now doing little clips and hoping to load them on Youtube.

I have youtube's recommendations for video file types, but it doesn't seem to say much about audio. Here's my problem/question:

The mpeg or MP4 video compression options I have in my software only seem to allow compression on the audio - you can't choose not to leave the audio uncompressed (as you can with some other file types). Then I assume youtube probably applies its own processes and perhaps compression. All in all, my audio sounds reduced in quality and bitrate after I've loaded it up.

So...
1) is it possible to encode into a Youtube preferred video format and leave the audio uncompressed? If so, what format is this?

2) But perhaps it's okay to allow Mpeg or Mp4 compression on the audio...if so, what is the optimum setup for audio in anticipation of loading to Youtube?

Many thanks!
-
Tom.
ThomasG
Silver Member
Silver Member

Re: optimum youtube format for audio?

Postby chiefnobum on Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:40 am

Uncompressed audio would lead to huge file sizes unfortunately (think around 50-100MB just in audio for a clip), but compressing down to 256kb/s or even 192kb/s should be fine. Any audio you put up there is getting reworked a bit by YouTube as they take your video and re-code it for a bunch of different bitrates/resolutions, but the HD stuff sounds much better so be sure to be putting up HD videos if you can.
chiefnobum
Top Contributor
Top Contributor